Credo® SC Insecticide

Credo is a premise spray for the control of darkling beetles (lesser mealworms) in poultry facilities. It can be applied as a broadcast, band, spot, or crack and crevice treatment.

product-Credo
  • Active ingredient: imidacloprid (group 4 insecticide)
  • Controls darkling beetle adults and larvae in poultry facilities
  • Suspension concentrate formulated with an effective insecticide
  • Easy to mix (liquid-based)
  • Can be rotated with Tempo® and Debantic® as part of an IPM program
  • Cost effective, one bottle can treat more than 500 m2 (6,000 ft2)
  • Format: 500 mL

Darkling beetles are one of the most common pests found in poultry production systems. They can infest facilities, transmit diseases to birds and cause bird irritation and structural damage, which can result in significant economic losses. Darkling beetles (lesser mealworms) are known vectors of diseases that birds are susceptible to, including coccidiosis, avian influenza, E.coli and salmonella1.

poultry

The conditions (food availability, temperature and shelter) inside poultry barns are a great environment for beetle development. Female beetles can lay more than 2,000 eggs over their lifetime, so populations can escalate quickly. A good beetle program can avoid heavy beetle populations and save a poultry producer $2,000-$4,000 per 100,000 birds2.

Darkling beetles tend to hide under feeders, around equipment, in cracks and crevices, in insulation and in the soil under the surface of the litter. Controlling moisture conditions, cleaning out the litter and minimizing spilled feed and water can help lower darkling beetle infestations, but pesticide application should also be considered. Most insecticides for darkling beetle control are applied between flocks, after cleaning and disinfection is complete (e.g. Credo and Tempo) but some can be applied with birds present (Debantic).

How to Apply*

Mix 90 mL in 2 – 7.5 L of water per 100m2. Use sufficient water to obtain a mixture that will provide effective coverage of surfaces but not require excessive drying time.

Apply after clean out and before new birds are introduced to the house. Treat all areas where beetles are located, such as under feed/water lines, the lower section of walls, support beams and in cracks and crevices. The level of infestation will determine whether using a band application or treating the whole poultry house is required.

Integrated Pest Management (IPM)

When resistance is possible, rotation is critical. Pests can develop reduced susceptibility to an active ingredient over time. To help prevent this, consider rotating to a product from a different chemical class (e.g. rotate Credo® SC with Debantic® and Tempo® for darkling beetle control).

You may also like:

  • tempo<sup>®</sup>
    Tempo®
  • Debantic<sup>®</sup>
    Debantic®
  • quickbayt<sup>®</sup>
    QuickBayt®

* Read and follow the complete instructions on the product label.

References
1. Dam, A. and Taylor, K. (2016) Darkling beetle control in poultry barns. OMAFRA Facsheet. Available at http://www.omafra.gov.on.ca/english/livestock/poultry/facts/16-053.htm
2. Axtell, R. C@ltipc@ and Arends, J. J. (1990). Ecology and management of arthropod pests of poultry. Annual Review of Entomology 35: 101-125

Insecticide Credo® SC

Credo est appliqué en pulvérisation dans les locaux pour lutter contre les ténébrions (petits ténébrions mats) dans les installations avicoles. Il peut être appliqué comme traitement de diffusion (généralisé), en bandes, localisé ou dans les fissures et fentes.

product-Credo
  • Ingrédient actif : imidaclopride (insecticide du groupe 4)
  • Maîtrise les ténébrions adultes et au stade larvaire dans les installations avicoles
  • Insecticide efficace sous forme de concentré en suspension
  • Facile à mélanger (préparation liquide)
  • Peut être appliqué en rotation avec Tempo® et Debantic® dans le cadre d’un programme de lutte antiparasitaire intégrée
  • Rentable : un contenant permet de traiter environ 500 m2 (6 000 pi2)
  • Format : 500 ml

Les ténébrions comptent parmi les parasites les plus répandus dans les systèmes de production de volaille. Ils peuvent infester les installations, transmettre des maladies aux oiseaux, provoquer une irritation chez ces derniers et entraîner des dommages structuraux, ce qui peut se traduire par des pertes économiques importantes. Les ténébrions (petits ténébrions mats) sont des vecteurs connus de maladies aviaires, notamment la coccidiose, la grippe aviaire et les infections à E. coli et à Salmonella1.

poultry

En raison des conditions (sources d’alimentation, température et abri) qui prévalent dans les poulaillers, ceux-ci représentent un formidable environnement pour le développement des ténébrions. Les ténébrions femelles peuvent pondre plus de 2 000 œufs au cours de leur vie; les populations peuvent donc augmenter rapidement. Un bon programme de lutte contre les ténébrions peut empêcher la multiplication de ces insectes et permettre au producteur de volaille d’économiser de 2 000 à 4 000 $ pour 100 000 oiseaux2.

Les ténébrions ont tendance à se cacher sous les distributeurs d’aliments, autour de l’équipement, dans les fentes et fissures, dans l’isolation des bâtiments et sous la litière. Le fait de contrôler les conditions d’humidité, de nettoyer la litière et de réduire au minimum les déversements d’eau et d’aliments peut aider à réduire les infestations de ténébrions, mais l’application de pesticides doit aussi être envisagée. La plupart des insecticides pour la lutte contre les ténébrions sont appliqués entre le départ d’un troupeau et l’arrivée du troupeau suivant, une fois le nettoyage et la désinfection terminés (p. ex. Credo et Tempo), mais certains peuvent être appliqués alors que les oiseaux sont présents (Debantic).

Mode d’emploi*

Mélanger 90 mL dans 2 à 7.5 L d’eau par 100 m2. Utiliser une quantité suffisante d’eau pour obtenir un mélange qui recouvrira efficacement les surfaces sans exiger de temps de séchage excessif.

Appliquer après le nettoyage des installations et avant l’arrivée des nouveaux oiseaux. Traiter toutes les zones où les ténébrions se rassemblent (sous les distributeurs d’aliments/conduites d’eau, le long de la partie inférieure des murs, sur les piliers de soutien et dans les fentes et fissures). Le degré d’infestation déterminera s’il faut recourir à une application en bandes ou traiter tout le poulailler.

Lutte antiparasitaire intégrée

S’il y a un risque de résistance, la rotation est essentielle. Au fil du temps, les parasites peuvent devenir moins sensibles à un ingrédient actif donné. Pour aider à prévenir une telle situation, envisager une rotation avec un produit d’une autre classe chimique (p. ex. appliquer Credo® SC en rotation avec Debantic® et Tempo® pour la lutte contre les ténébrions).

Les produits suivants pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

  • tempo<sup>®</sup>
    Tempo®
  • Debantic<sup>®</sup>
    Debantic®
  • quickbayt<sup>®</sup>
    QuickBayt®

* Lire et suivre les directives complètes figurant sur l’étiquette du produit.

Références
1 Dam, A. and Taylor, K. (2016) Darkling beetle control in poultry barns. OMAFRA Facsheet. Available at http://www.omafra.gov.on.ca/english/livestock/poultry/facts/16-053.htm
2 Axtell, R. C@ltipc@ and Arends, J. J. (1990). Ecology and management of arthropod pests of poultry. Annual Review of Entomology 35: 101-125